Extorter

Last night, as I’m saying goodnight to Hank, he’s wiggling another loose tooth.

“Mom, just tell me.” I know the Tooth Fairy doesn’t really exist. It’s you isn’t it?”

“Yep.”

It was time to tell him. He’s been trying to get me to confess about other things like Santa, but on that I shall not budge. I believe in Santa in some kind of way. But when it comes to the Tooth Fairy, I think it’s now a trust issue. And I really don’t have a lot of loyalty to the whole Tooth Fairy concept. But what do I get for my honesty?

Extortion.

Hank: “Make it the usual amount.. You know, $5-6.”

Me: “What will happen if I don’t give you any money?”

Hank: “I’m telling Haleigh and Zoe (his sisters, aged 14 and 12, respectively) and then they’ll text their friends and they’ll text their friends and it will go on and on and on and on.”

“Oh and Mom, the milk is out waiting for you.”

Oh is it waiting for me?

That child doesn’t skip a beat.

Toothless wonder

Just lost his second top tooth: January 2013

Leave a comment